What are your favourite language learning techniques when learning multiple languages?

My favourite language learning technique when studying multiple languages at the same time is “laddering”. It means that I use a stronger target language (where I’m at least intermediate) as a base for studying another weaker target language. This way I can kill two birds with a stone and improve both languages at the same time. Some examples:
I wrote Spanish posts about Arabic grammar: https://www.instagram.com/p/BvHtzedjXK0/
I did an Irish challenge, used partly French resources for studying Irish, wrote in French about Irish grammar and expressions and also compared concepts of the Irish language with other languages (in this example with Korean): https://www.instagram.com/p/CJG_BZYnnWN/
I’m currently studying Korean and using Japanese as a base language. Korean and Japanese are very similar and explanations of Korean grammar are just much easier to understand in Japanese than in English.
For indigenous languages it also makes more sense to use other languages than English. For instance, for indigenous languages in Latin America, there are plenty of resources in Spanish, for languages in Africa, resources in French are available etc. For learning Ainu or Nivkh it makes sense to use Japanese and Russian resources.

What about you? Do you also use the laddering technique or do you use other techniques to study multiple languages at the same time?

4 Likes

I really admire you, Miriam! It’s a nice challenge to read a chapter in a book in one language, and write or talk about it in another. I agree, it’s a great way to build up your ability in a language that’s newer to you in terms of study, using one in which you may be conversational or even close to fluency.
When studying multiple languages, it helps me to use different sources, vs. recording basically the same audio or writing the same text, basically a series of translations of the same thing.